Dipping in that BBC Pool

I decided to start a new trend. Something fairly popular and commonly known to the internet world. I thought perhaps I was being a hater for far too long and I should embrace my more American side (just kidding, really). Anyways, I have begun a new destiny for myself:

Start watching BBC America shows.

Mind you, I don’t have any form of cable or digital television. I just have an ancient television with a DVD player and a VCR in case I want to watch Good Burger for a good fun. Hey, when you’re poor, you do what you can to get by. Anyways, with the help of some lovely friends and my awesome place of work AKA the library, I’m able to score some BBC goodness on DVD to get myself in the know of this wonderful world of British accents. I have this desire to know more things about unimportant matters than important, but that’s just way my brain operates sometimes.

Anyways, so I started with the original The Office, so I could get an idea where the American version got it’s idea and how they derived from it. I have to say that once I got into the BBC version, I was a little disappointed to see that the American version really did take so much from the British version. Tim to Jim? Really? Dawn’s troubled engagement to Lee to Pam’s troubled engagement to Roy? Stapler in jelly to Stapler in Jell-o? Ahh, I was very disappointed, but whatever, it works. Anyways, after I got through the first three episodes, I did enjoy it very much. I was surprised and pleased to see how much I ended up liking it by the end of the 1st series.

My next step is/was Sherlock. OH MAN. I was told to just go for it because so far, it’s a short series, only into it’s second bit. I was all, ‘Oh alright, if it’s short, it won’t take up too much of my time.’ I got my boyfriend to agree to watching the first episode with me and I was thinking, ‘Ah, this won’t be too much, right?’

First off, I didn’t know each episode was 90 minutes long (because I never read the fine print, I just generally grab and go). Ninety minutes later, both the boy and I were in a daze and a little confused by where the time went. HOWEVER, it was very good! I got very into the dynamics of the Holmes-Watson relationship and the mysteries were amazingly intricate. While the episodes were definitely long, I found myself very immersed by them. The second episode didn’t grab my attention as much, but the third one definitely went back up to speed. Of course it ends at a cliffhanger and of course, I don’t have BBC America, so at the moment, I’ll be waiting for my copy to come in at work.

What’s next then? Well, I’m waiting for The Office and Sherlock, both series 2. After that? Perhaps I’ll just jump into Doctor Who? I was also debating on some comedy series, in the situation I was told “The IT Crowd” is worthy of watching. I did watch an episode of it before and did like it very much, so I see that being possible too.

Now I’m aware there are some hardcore fans out there and I would very much love to ask your opinions, but let’s not be overwhelming, shall we? Baby steps… baby steps…

Back to the real world!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Titillating Thoughts
    Feb 18, 2013 @ 00:54:48

    Doctor Who is the one I highly recommend. Start from the ones that began in 2005. It is one of my favorite shows, probably ever.

    I just watched Sherlock myself. I was also unaware of the 90 minute episodes, but was able to watch it all with ease. Very good series.

    Reply

    • Shay. R.
      Feb 18, 2013 @ 10:46:32

      I will definitely look into Doctor Who then! I was told to start with season 2 where the story “really gets started” because I suppose season 1 is a little slower?

      Sherlock was definitely a great watch, I can’t wait until season 2 gets in my hands. 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

