Chances

It’s 2013 and honestly, I feel as if I have a lot of things to look forward to. This is the year that I wish to make an advancement in my company and hopefully end up with a new position that is truly worth working for. I am eternally grateful for the opportunities that my current position and location allows me to take advantage of, and even more so grateful for the support I receive. This is a company I would love to grow and develop my skills over a long run, and hopefully this will lead to greater things down the road.

It is a little strange, in that I would love to stay in my position and do the things I am doing, but since it’s very little money,

Write something good that happened to you every day

Write something good that happened to you every day

I know that I must move on further in order to make anything of myself. We live in the times where if you don’t have any internal connections and/or prove your worth by killing yourself to exhaustion, you better start liking the change in your pockets and the cheap ways to everything (which, admittedly, are neat to find when it comes by).

However, this isn’t a post about jobs or my company in particular, this is just a post about life and making the most of it. When a new year comes, it’s always exciting to think about the possibilities that will come your way. Will you take the chance or will you pass it up for something else?

Last year, I took a business-oriented purpose and started a MeetUp group in order to attract a larger audience of people in order to increase attendance for my work’s programs. Now, MeetUp is a website whose intentions are to allow people to meet and hang out based on similar interests, and make friends in an alternative way (via internet). It’s not exactly uncommon for people with more business intentions to take advantage of this though, as you are generally

giving people an opportunity to explore something new (and my promoted programs are typically free, so everybody wins), but it somewhat takes away from the social aspects of the group. I didn’t really explore the possibilities of really getting to know people in my group until a few months in when it seemed like I was getting a more steady, consistent group of people attending.

I suppose my point is that I didn’t think of myself actually getting to know and making friends through the website, as I initially treated it as a business opportunity to show my company the advantages of reaching out to another audience and allowing us the chance to actually try more things for those said people. Now that I have actually attended to some events outside of my work with those meetup people, I feel more included in my own group. It’s strange, right? I wanted to take the chance of getting to know people though, and this was one way I figured would be most comfortable for me, and I’m definitely glad to be doing so.

On a more personal note, I’m taking another chance of getting to know about those friends as well as my coworkers’ and my boyfriend’s interests in order to get to know what other people are getting into. I wish to be open-minded about as much as I can find out and allow people to express themselves comfortably without feeling as if they will be judged. Really, this is an outlook I think everybody should live, but we don’t have much control over that.

Roll with what you can manage, right?

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Titillating Thoughts
    Feb 04, 2013 @ 22:23:16

    So this “business”…How much for a night? lol. I kid.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

