Requirements: Zero Thinking

The majority of my friends are technologically/media-inclined, which I’m obviously okay with, but that gives me a severe lack of people who would want to be crafty with me. I’m typically the ‘art-sy’ one; I like to write, I like to draw, I like to create stuff, I like to read stuff for ideas, I like to stand outside and admire trees (well… not really… I mean, I’ve looked at trees, but I’m not admiring, really…). It’s not that other people I spent my time with didn’t, it’s the level of interest that was different.

Insert sad face.

I’m sort of in this transition phase where I’m essentially rebelling against watching television; however, it’s not out of spite or some sort of offensive imagery I may have come across (I mean, I have seen some… but I saw more through the INTERWEBS LULZ), it’s just simply to get me to do other things. It’s a ‘What do I do if my television broke or it was stolen?‘ sort of game I enforce on myself every day. It did help me discover a little more of the blog world and the increasingly popular DIY projects trend I see coming along (and love, love! I want to make so much of the stuff I see almost every day), so I’m hoping that the ideas I come across will both motivate and inspire me to do more with my life.

I did have one night of art fun though, which made me super happy and hope to do it again soon. Myself and a couple of friends got together and decided to do a Round Robin version of painting a canvas. Basically, we played some dance/techno music in the background and when the song ended, we switched canvases and continued painting. The starting point and the end results were pretty drastic, but they actually turned out pretty awesome! It’s definitely a fun indoor (although there’s no reason why you can’t do it outside too!) activity for any age.

Gather your items…

We used basic painting supplies: An array of brushes, a multitude of acrylic paint in many shades, a bucket of water, and many paper towels.  The purpose of this is to just start painting with no real clear idea or thought in mind. Just put that brush on the board and let your hands move wherever.

Drinks optional… what kind is also optional…

I will mention that Shiner is one of my favorite beers to drink.

Music starts… and go!

The first painting I did was actually the one with the multi-colored swirls before passing it over. Round shapes are easier for me to etch out than straight edges… I couldn’t tell you why though.

Second song! Quick, switch!

This painting in the front looks nothing like its end result. However, that’s the awesome beauty (ugliness?) of Round Robin. You just really don’t know what to expect.

Next song! AHH!

Technically this picture is from Instagram (username: shaylross :)). As you can see, I was actually doing different photo edits for all these pictures through Picasa (except the Instagram one) because I’m not very good with Photoshop and general picture-taking. Forgive me for my lack of photographic artistic abilities.

One participant chose to observe instead

If we weren’t concerned about the mess and the overall toxicity of the paint, one of us thought about dipping the kitten’s paws in paint and printing them on to the canvas. However, we decided against it because we like cats and somewhat clean apartments.

What number song is this? I lost track, too much paint… ugghh…

See how the left painting has weird prints? I accidentally dropped a pretzel I was trying to munch onto a blob of paint and it was a sudden genius idea to make pretzels stamps on the canvas. Accidents create beauty… or just paint marks shaped like pretzels. Ha!

Step back and admire/cringe at the masterpieces/work of destruction.

The end results are not what you expect. You’re not allowed to tell others what to keep on the canvas nor do you have to follow any sort of pattern on the canvas in front of you. I’m so happy to get back into art again.

Do you guys have any fun art projects or stories to share? Thanks for stopping by!

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Shay. R.
    May 23, 2012 @ 10:06:01

    Reblogged this on Scenes from a Book Nerd's Happenings and commented:

    New blog post at other blog about painting! 🙂 Please check it out and let me know about your painting adventures!

    Reply

  2. Titillating Thoughts
    May 23, 2012 @ 21:47:54

    TV inspires a lot of ideas. Gives me a creativity boost. Maybe DIY would add to that, but I don’t know. I like the DIFM better. lol

    Reply

Leave a Reply

