Who Took My Peanut Butter?

Now, I’ve been trying to be a dedicated, healthy vegetarian for about three months now, which I think I’m doing fairly well, I’m also well aware that there are still a lot of changes I can make to do it better. (Helpful suggestions for a newbie? I’m kind of cheap too so I can’t be getting too fancy). I still eat seafood though… it’ll be a slow process for me to completely take that out of my diet because tuna is really cheap and delicious (I know, I know, lame excuse). It’s even harder when eating out; I didn’t realize how much of the menus would typically contain some kind of meat in the options. I usually just end up picking something with seafood or one of the few ‘vegetarian’ options they may have, haha.

Or I make my friends go to vegetarian-friendly places instead.

So far, they haven’t fought with me.

Yet.

For example, I went out to a Bravo’s with a friend for their brunch specials without realizing that the majority of their options would include sausage and bacon. I mean, of course, it does, but I went in with high expectations of a classy meat-less meal haha. I ended up getting Crab Cakes and Eggs (seafood, I know!), which contained: Jumbo lump crab cakes served atop sautéed spinach and artichokes, paired with poached eggs, Hollandaise sauce and BRAVO! breakfast potatoes.

My excuse was that I felt fancy. Ignore my friend’s meaty entrée

Sometimes, when I come home late at night after a long day of work, errands, and mindless responsibilities to tend to, I have moments of distraught for food that my dinner would end up being this:

Don’t judge me, I love cheese with a fiery passion!

However, I’ve been doing a lot of small things with fruits, my sweet love! And believe me, I about died when I saw strawberries and blueberries back in season! Especially so I can avoid getting ‘bad’ sweets, no matter how pretty they might appear, like this:

To be fair, I bought these for my co-workers, not just me.

In order to steer myself in a better (right?) direction, one type of snack/lunch I’ve been doing are variations of peanut butter sandwiches. I have a fond love for peanut butter (almost as strong as my love for cheese). I can’t say exactly when it started, or which brand I prefer (as long as it’s smooth, not crunchy), or if I have any traumatic episodes that made me almost turn the other way, but the love is strong. After doing a continuous stretch of peanut butter and honey on English muffins for breakfast, I thought, ‘Oh, why don’t I just make sandwiches for lunch?’

Cue light bulb.

The first type of sandwich I did was peanut butter and banana. I know, I know, pretty standard stuff. I tried to make it a little more exciting by adding honey, but even that seemed boring. Any ideas on how to spice it up a bit?

My next expedition with peanut butter sandwiches was peanut butter (whoa), apple slices, honey drizzle, and cinnamon. Now, maybe I was having a moment, but this was pretty amazing. I would always pair my pb with apples as a snack and just the sheer idea of putting it between two slices of wheat bread seemed genius to me.

Paradise on bread. No?

The next, more commonly used, peanut butter snack I tend to make is a peanut butter yogurt dip.

1/2 cup peanut butter

1/2 cup flavored yogurt of your choice (I tend to pick strawberry, blueberry, or just vanilla)

1/4 cup powdered sugar

Throw it in a bowl or container, stir it up nice and smooth, and ta da!

Best Midnight Snack Ever

Get another bowl, chop up the fruit you want (usually apples and bananas, but no need to hold back), and start dipping (with or without a fork). I think the dip is so good, I end up eating it by itself by the spoon, haha.

But don’t do that, you’ll get sick from too much.

I have a feeling that my next food/fruit-related post will be about strawberries. Prepare yourself.

Thanks for reading! Any suggestions, tips, or peanut butter ideas, please deposit them in the comments below. 🙂

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Maggie O'C
    May 17, 2012 @ 15:19:08

    my sister is a vegan and she says steak houses are a great place to eat out b/c of all the side dishes. Me, I’m a meatatarian!

    Reply

    • Shay. R.
      May 17, 2012 @ 15:25:03

      Haha, that’s a fantastic idea about the steakhouse, why didn’t I think of that? I mean, I do love bread and mashed potatoes… mmm. No worries, I don’t judge those who choose to eat bacon over broccoli. 🙂 Thanks for commenting!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

