Ideas, Inspiration, Motivation!

Ahh, I can’t believe how lazy I have gotten in trying to keep up with this blog. I have a habit of just getting caught up in the moment of things; when I finally get home, I’m just tired and want to crawl in bed. However, I don’t have any real excuse for that. Today will be a discussion of happy things and good news.

I finally got myself to go on a (short) run this morning before work with my sister’s dog. It was nice to get outside and feel my body trying hard to keep the pace, but unfortunately, the dog has a habit of just being all over the place. Hence, the tripping, the confusion, the general annoyance followed and the run was only for ten minutes. (You can just simply imagine a stick figure awkwardly tripping over a large dog through a ditch on the side of the road for the most likely imagery) So, all in all, it was a failing success. It definitely gave me motivation though, so HOPEFULLY *crosses fingers* I will try to keep up with it. I thought about keeping some running clothes in my car but I like to wash my makeup off beforehand, so I would have to carry facial cleaner and I’m not even sure where I’d end up jogging if it was somewhere not at home. I would need my water bottle with COLD water and possibly a towel… I would look like a hoarder (not that my car doesn’t already express that).

Moving along, in one month, I will be finally moving to a new place with a friend of mine! It’s a small duplex, but it’s nice inside and we have the liberty of painting, gardening, hanging stuff, etc. It’s also much closer to my work, closer to a lot of friends, closer to downtown of the city, closer to alternative transit systems (rail trolley and buses, so to speak), closer to just a lot of things I’ve been wanting to be closer to.

Newly redone. I love the little lamp and the stone outlining the door.

With that in mind, I will be looking for a new weekend part-time job to replace my old one since it’ll just be too much of a drive to get to. I got time to hunt around, but I’m hoping that I don’t end up with something that makes me want to yank my hair out! My library (full-time) job is just so nice because the people want to be there! They want to talk to you, want you to help them out, want to read books and learn, participate in community events, and just simply enjoy life more than sitting on your couch watching MTV marathons of Jersey Shore. The sad thing is that it’s not quite enough money for myself to live by so until I get further into the field, I’ll still need some extra income on the weekends. On the plus side, I genuinely enjoy working…. so whatever job I may pick up, I will find reasons to like it. 

There’s a thrift store called Avalon Exchange in my city with two neighborhood locations. Basically, it’s like your Goodwill and Salvation Army, but it’s specifically aimed at a younger crowd (AKA people like me) with the type of clothing they promote. The clothing options are usually better than the various Plato’s Closets we have here (another ‘younger aged thrift store’), so it’s pretty nice be able to find a pair of jeans in great condition for $12!! I’ve been reading many other blogs on here about how other ladies (and gentlemen, I suppose haha) work with what they have, shop below their means and use creative ways to make something old into something new. While I do like to clean out my closet every couple of months, I have been trying pretty hard to see what sort of combinations I can make first. 

Being open-minded with the clothing…. a new goal for me this summer. And shop cheap. Why do I need to spend $45 on a new shirt at AE when I could get one for way cheaper and of basically equal quality some place else? 

One other personal resolution I’ve been working hard to keep is my vegetarian diet. While, personally, I don’t find it horribly difficult to negate the meat out of my diet (admittedly, I still eat seafood…. it’s a slow process), I’m realizing that there’s so much I could experiment with the produce, pasta, breads, cheese, spices, etc that I already have. I plan on hitting up a local Farmer’s Market sometime in the next week and stock up on some goodies (soooo excited!!), plopping myself in the kitchen with a couple of vegetarian cookbooks and see what magic I can create. Or ruin. Regardless, I’ll still eat because I would feel awful for it to go to waste. 

This is a quite a long post with not very many pictures. Sorry about that, I just wanted to get a lot of happy thoughts and resolutions I’ve been working on, off my chest and into this blog. The next posts are going to be way more interesting, colorful and picture-iffic. 

Questions for you guys! Got any vegetarian tips and secrets? What kind of house-warming parties should I throw if I decide to do one? What sort of motivation do you guys use to get yourself into an exercise routine? Thanks for reading! 🙂

Leave a Reply

