Plan. Create. Live. Smile.

I’m a pretty firm believer of making your life something you can enjoy. I want to live every day thinking, ‘what can I do to make this day a little more awesome?’ Usually I try to meet up or at least chat with a friend (in person, on phone, via chat on Gmail, Facebook, etc.) to gain my comfort in socializing, but I also like to try to find a new topic or activity to explore. One of the many reasons I enjoy working at the library is that there are always surprises to be found, whether it’s a new book to consider reading at a later date (because I’m such a slow reader anymore) or something a co-worker talks about or new projects that I get to take over (…. or continuing with the projects I still have to finish, haha). I love the different types of people that come in every day, the interactions I get to have with them (conversation topics range all over the place, I  never know what to expect), and the things I get to see. Since it’s essentially a non-profit community center, there’s always events and activities for people of all ages to partake in; a lot of them which I get to participate myself.

When I’m not at work, I always crave an adventure. Even if it’s just taking a walk in a different direction I never gone before… what’s down at that end of the street? Maybe it’s a store I never seen before or maybe it leads to a nice view? Do you know? No? Why not check it out, right? However, I can understand the busy life a lot of people have. My weekends typically invovle working from 9 am to midnight for two jobs, which means I don’t have a weekend. And for that, I spend a lot of my free time during the week catching up on errands, laundry, bills, grocery shopping, cleaning, etc etc etc. Despite all that, I still like to make time to have a moment of enjoyment because I think I deserve. Actually, I think we all deserve moments of happiness in the midst of our busy lives.

In order to get myself a little more motivated (as well as giving myself a reason to write stuff down with the horribly poor memory I have), I bought this awesome little gem of a planner at Barnes & Noble:

Motivation! Yeah!

It’s a planner (monthly and weekly), contact list, notepad and sketchpad with inspiring little quotes thrown in it at random. I would say this is one of the best random purchases I’ve made in a long time. When I have this out, it makes me want to actually do something worthwhile to write in it. (Also gives me a reason to write, period. I love to write, but I can’t get myself to sit and do it, haha!) For example, say I decide to meet up with a friend for lunch, why not try a new place we haven’t been to? If I decide I want to take a walk on a nice day, why not try finding a park, walking path, or just another neighborhood to browse through? There’s one area I love going to on a really nice day because it has such a pretty view of the city across the river:

Pretty City across the river 🙂

Either way, the planner has been a great motivational tool in the past few months. Every time I look at it, I constantly think ‘What can I do this week that would be as well as sound really awesome?’ Heck, just hanging out with a friend and doing a puzzle is more than enough to make me happy and find it worthwhile to remember. What do you guys do to motivate yourself to enjoy the little things in life?

Leave a Reply

